Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Today I woke up feeling a little sick, I plucked some hairs until I was able to fall back to sleep with my tweezers. I had a normal day until dinner. At dinner my father was eating a suddenly began to choke. He wasnt breathing. I got very scared and went to help him. I am an EMT and my mom is a nurse. We were both there for him. HE then ran over to the sick and started to make some weird noises. He was trying to throw up. He was holding the sick so tight and making these horrible noises. He was getting bluish. I am so ashamed....instead of helping him...I ran away with my ears plugged hard. MY mom gave him the himlick (spelling?) manuever and brought him outside for some fresh air. He didnt throw up and he is ok now. I was so scared. I feel so badly. MY dad could have died and if my mom wasn't there he probably would have. MY mom was yelling at me for not helping, and told me I would make a horrible mother and how could I let this fear go so far where I was too afraid to help anyone. MY father was disappointed in me. I could not eat my dinner or look at my parents. I am ok now and so is my dad, but I feel so horrible for how I acted. How could I not help??!!? I feel like such a failure.