Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Talking My story- New to website-Emetiphobia for 15 years

Hello,

I've been checking out this website on and off for several years now and I decided to get an account just to privately share my stories and get feedback from others.

My emetophobia is something that very few if any people know I suffer from. I feel lile many people suffer from this phobia but refuse to discus it because it bothers them or they feel embarrassed by it.

I think theres something in our lives, especially at a young age that triggers our fear. At least I think thats what happened to me.

When I was around the age of nine I became really ill from some kind of bug. It was really traumatic for me because of how ill it made me.
    I think my fear stems from the lack of support I was given as a child from my parents when I was ill. If I became unwell during the night my mother would refuse to come comfort me. Or when I was ill she would ignore me or come into the bathroom and say uncomforting things.

I guess I always felt on my own in those situations or that it was wrong or I had done something wrong?

I am 23 years old now and I still suffer from emetiphobia but I don't think it's as bad as it use to be. I still fear mostly v* myself because it's a very dramatic situation.
    If it does happen I refuse anyone’s support or reassurance although it is something that I want. I don't know why I have to refuse it. It’s almost a shame inside of me that prevents me from doing it in front of anyone.
    I don’t think this is an uncommon feeling for people to have either but it’s not something you discuss with people, ever.