Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

I am really a newbie. I have been searching for a name for what I have and its been years since I have been able to find anything

I have treated like I am a freak or a crybaby by my parents and brothers and sisters. I have one aquaintence that has the same fear as me and thats been comforting, but putting a name to this fear feels like a weight has been lifted off of my chest.

I avoid situations where people may be sick. I refuse to go on a cruise due to motion sickness likelihood. My mother says "oh you only feel sick for the first day" I try to explain to her that that ONE day (or even 1 minute of sickness) would ruin my WHOLE trip. She doesn't get it.

I have finally found people that get it. Thank you for making me not feel like I am being a crybaby when I have my panic attacks. My mother still makes fun of me (in a nice way, I mean) for waking her up at 3:00am if I was feeling sick. Even up until I was 22 years old.

I am 27 years old and I live in Toronto, Canada.

Can anyone else pinpoint when this phobia began for them? I have two ideas in my head, but I am not sure if these occasions are what started my fear, or just made it worse.

Also, any suggestions on how to stop/curb this phobia? Its stops me from doing lots of things in life that I would enjoy.

Welcome to this site, we are all a caring family here since we know how we all feel. it's great that you have a fellow emet as a close friend to lean on... it must be very comforting for you both. Unfortunately this phobia does handicap our lives, being the only focus we have everyday is how to keep IT from happening.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Welcome! This is a wonderful bunch of people here...you will like it!