Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hi, I'm new to this but I have had some problems and don't really know how to explain them. I have never had any kind of phobia especially in public. Just recently about 4 months ago it started. At first I started having trouble breathing and drinking water during class. Then it became so bad that I would have to get up because I felt like I was going to pass out or v. Anyways soon it started happening at resturants, I would order food and as soon as I got the food, I would lose my appetite. The sick feeling does not go away and I just sit and wait while others finish. So, I dont go out to resturants now. This even happens at home sometimes, and I don't know what to do. I used to be able to handle social settings but now I am scared that my phobia will just pop up at any time. I was so happy to find this site because noone understands whats happening to me. Everyone says its all in my head, or its stress. I agree, I just don't know how to deal with it.

My best suggestion would be to consider starting some kind of therapy. Even if it is just stress, it doesnt sound like its a whole lot of fun for you and finding a way and someone to talk to about it will probably help you out.

*hugs*

I'm here if you want to talk

Thanks, I have been to the dr. but at the time I thought something was wrong with me (health wise) and so I didn't ask for additional help besides a check up. After the dr. said I was fine, I thought I would get better but nothing has changed. I guess I should go back and explain this isn't going away.

yea just keep bugging the doctors until they do something about it that make you feel better. at least thats what everyone keeps telling me and i have to say, its slow but its better than doing nothing other than feel sick. most days...