Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Is your fear of v* worse/more common at night?

Hi folks, newbie here,
    Not sure whether to say I'm "fully" emetophobic, my fear doesn't really interfere with my daily life, but it does take the reins when I do feel slightly/potentially ill, and makes it WAY worse.

Does anyone identify with these symptoms? - (not tryna be graphic but probably still triggering, if you're that way)
    Maybe dinner doesn't agree with me, and I feel just sort of.. malaise, tummy maybe a tiny bit off. First response: "Uh oh, am I going to vomit?! No, probably not. BUT WHAT IF??" Then comes a headache and mild-moderate diarrhea (not sure if legit or just anxiety). I take a shot of Pepto and a melatonin pill so I'll be out asap (I'd knock myself out with a big mallet like in cartoons if I could). In between trips to the bathroom, I lay in bed and ride out sweaty chills with tremors that come in waves and shake my whole body. Distraction helps a little, but I'm in too much distress to really focus on anything. Probably lasts up to a few hours or whenever the sleeping pill kicks in. I almost never really throw up, and am aware throughout that most/all of this is a false alarm, but that doesn't curb it.

The thing is, I get this 99% of the time at bedtime. My fear is, more than act itself (which is gross but brief), of the surrounding nausea and feelings of despair/terror/isolation preventing me from sleeping. Something about being kept up by nausea at night, alone, is terrifying, but I don't know exactly what because logically it's not THAT bad. (And I know my parents are right there if I needed to wake them, so I'm not truly isolated.) I start thinking about how terrible it would be to feel like this for a long time, people with serious illnesses/without access to any help, etc.

By comparison I've been legitimately ill at noon with no anxiety preceding the act.