Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hey guys and gals,

I was just thinking about how much shame factors into this emet thing for me. Were any of you raised by a family member or members who made you feel bad or unworthy when you were s* or v*?

I was writing on another post but think it is more appropriate here that when I was ever s* at my home I would never wake anyone up. I would suffer through it by myself. I am still very much like that. If I give in to v*ing then I have failed. I don't want anyone to know and my worst fear is being somewhere and having to v* and someone finding out or hearing me. The worst would be at school and v* in front of my students!
    Ahhhhhhrrr!

Just this week at school (I am a teacher), yesterday in fact, this happened to me. I have had a bad cold all week and have been weak and tired out with a sore and swollen throat, which can lead to that gag reflex thing and of course n*, right? So I was in class, trying to teach, and this terrible n* came over me and I kept thinking "Hey, this is a chance I can get over my emet. I'll just give in to it." But along with the fear of actually v* came that shame and guilt: I can't leave my class, where will anyone find a sub, what if someone walks in on me in the bathroom, how would I explain myself?" Who thinks like this! If you are sick you are sick and people should feel sorry for you. Why don't I give myself a break like that. I feel that if I v* then I am inconveniencing someone. I'm doing something wrong, something actually shameful.