Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hi guys, I occasionally visit this forum, sometimes a lot more than others so you all probably don't remember me. But I've had a huge fear of throwing up and seeing others doing itforat least 10 years, which was the last time I threw up. Last time I did it it wasn't horrible so I don't know what made me afraid.

I've been on zoloft since November for depression, and was seeing a counselor at school to talk about my phobia and other issues for more than a year. Currently I'm studying abroad in London. I'm 21.

Anyway! on Sunday evening I threw up 4 times! On a plane! I wasn't even sick, and I don't get motion sick. What I think happened is that I forgot to take the zoloft on Saturday and Friday when I was visiting Scotland, and then had a guinness and a smirnoff on Saturday night, which made me extremely exhausted, almostready to pass out. The next day I felt listless and kind of sick, but later on perked up. Then we flew back to London, and after the plane landed and I was waiting to get off, I all of a sudden got hot and dizzy. I took off my jacket and scarf and my roommate took my bags and I dry heaved, and sat down. Then somehow I made it to the front of the plane, told the flight attendant I was going to pass out, then she put me into the bathroom, I fell to the floor, and then threw up 4 times in the toilet. It was kind of a lot, though I hadn't eaten much that day.

BUT IT WASN'T THAT BAD!! Seriously it happened so fast, and even as I was doing it I thought "ok, i can do this". And I felt amazingly better afterwards, better than I had felt all day. The worst part was being on a plane and being afraid to not make it to the bathroom and grossing everyone out, and also feeling like I was going to faint.

The flight attendant made it very easy though, she encouraged me and held my hair back and comforted me. So nice!