Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hi. Yes, I have a fear of v*. The strange thing is that it is genetic (must be). My mother, who is a majorhypchondriac started both me and my sister's phobia. She was obsessed with us being sick and would often make us stay home for days and days just for a cold or whatever. She seemed to revel in our sickness (long story). Anyways, my older sister started with the fear and I have it, as well. My older sister became obsessed with killing germs, especially any that would cause the stomach flu. I am not as obsessed with germs, but hate to throw up, HEAR someone throw up, see someone or God forbid, myself throw up. I am a teacher of small kids and throwing up in the class is inevitable. At any stomach pain, I send my kids right to the nurse. The nurse probably hates me! But,I don't care! I have had kids barf in my room and I have had to leave and was near tears many times. I am in constant fear of eating something "bad" or "spoiled" for fear I will be sick. For the last two days, my husband had a 24 hour stomach bug and was v* all night. I leave him alone in the spare bedroom, spray Lysol EVERYWHERE, cover my ears and just pray that I don't get it. Then, of course, my stomach hurts because I am so nervous. So, now, he is feeling better and I am scared that I am going to get it and will be a NERVOUS WRECK this week waiting for a stomach ache to come on. If my two kids get the flu, my husband has to deal with it. I will call him home from work (he is a cop and works at night) to have him tend to the kids. He knows that I can't handle it. Does anyone have any insight on what caused this FEAR? I know I am not going to DIE if I throw up, I just know that I would rather have every tooth pulled from my mouth before throwing up, even once. How do we deal with it? My sister takes Zoloft for it. My niece, who is 12, my sister's daughter, also has it very badly and tak