Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hello,

I am new to Emetophobia. I believe my Daughter started suffering from this when she was 6 1/2, after 4 stomach bugs. She always asked me, "will I throw up?" I would answer her "no" and we would move on. It didnt keep her from any activities, eating, etc.

Four weeks ago, she suffered a trauma which completely pushed the phobia through. A fellow classmate threw up in music class right night to her. According to the teacher, it was "pretty bad".

Danielle came home hysterical.

Since this incident, she is completely phobia, and it consumes her most of the time. We are keeping her in school, however, she ends up at the nurse a few times a day fearing the worst.

She utters..."Mommy, my tummy, will I throw up", at least 50 - 100 times a day.

I have been on a quest to find out if anyone this young was ever helped. We have JUST started her with CBT, and no meds as of yet. Its too soon to tell, but my heart is ripped out every day.

Please post if you have heard, or have had this terrible phobia actually be treated sucessfully, especially in children. I hope we caught this early enough, but in the meantime, I have not read of many success stories, except one. This is leaving me with no light at the end of the tunnel. I would love if anyone could shed some light on this for me. Bless you all,

RainieB

I'm so sorry. I didn't really have this phobia when I was that little, it sort of hit me hard at about age 11. I do know however that I am already so much better and I'm 18. I don't worry every day and I actually just got over a virus that hit my stomach pretty bad. I think it really depends on the person. If they're willing to get better and have a good support system (like you!) things will turn around.

Good luck

Rainie - I responded to your PM.