Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Thread: Uh oh...

Hello,

So first of all, i just want to say that i am new to this whole online world that i never knew about. but the past few days have been extreamly hard, and this site has saved me many times, so thank you to everyone!

Second i have a question, that doesn't really have an answer it just bothers me so i ask it all the time, in fact my mom and dad are quite tired of me asking it. But why do I (we) have to suffer from emet or panic disorders? it is not fair, and really a cruel way to live through live, granted i know it is not bad compared to a million other situations, but it sure as hell isn't plesant. I am 17 and have suffered from what i know now is emet and generalized anxiety disorder with panic and anxiety attacks since i can remember. i am in highschool, and this condition or disorder or whatever the hell it is has pretty much run my life, and it has for sure had an impact on my grades and relationships. i find that i have a hard time with people understanding my emet and they end up poking fun at it. such as making puke jokes or the sound, andthey don't understand how that affects me, even though i tell them. As a result, i stay with people i am comfortable with the most, like my sis esp. because she really understands me, but i wish my friends were more understanding.

Third, my family is very disfunctional, like many others i assume. my parents divorced when i was four, my mother is an alcohlic drug addict, and my father and step mother drink way too much too. Until i was 15 i lived with my mom, when her drinking got so bad that i moved in with my father whom i hadn't lived with for 11 years. I now live with him, my step mom half brother and step siblings, and it is very hard because my father won't talk to my biological sister. I have a family therapy session with my dad and step mother tonight, and i am freaking out.