Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Thread: Newbie Here

Hello all! I stumbled upon this site when researching various things related to my own phobias and anxiety and determined that I may very well be suffering from emetophobia... Some background on me (I apologize for the length, but much of it is simply me venting anonymously):

Basically, I have an irrational fear of vomitting in public. Eating out at a restaurant is possible if it's just me and my girlfriend (but it's still not pleasant, and I usually eat very small, light meals), and nearly impossible with more people. I'm always calculating how close the bathroom or nearest garbage can is if I need to vomit. If I'm traveling with anything in my stomach, I have to be driving. I have to be "in control."

I can fly on airplanes, but only if I've refrained from eating the entire day (which really sucks for afternoon or evening flights).

Unlike some of you, however, I don't seem to have the fear regarding food poisoning and food preparation. It's mostly the fear of being trapped in a public location without an immediate exit in case I need to vomit which affects me the most. Even in class when the teacher goes around the room for people to introduce themselves, every second leading up to my intro involves my heart racing and intense nausea. Even for something as simple as calling roll makes me anxious until I'm bypassed (in case I needed to vomit at the second they call my name). Having to give speeches is an absolute nightmare as well. The entire day I can't eat anything, and am anxious and nauseous constantly. Fearing I might vomit during the speech (the epitome of embarassment), I often go into the bathroom beforehand and dry heave into the toilet until I convince myself that my stomach is empty and I can't possibly vomit.