Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hey~

I'm a sophomore at college living with three other girls in an apartment. I feel like I have been doing pretty well coping with the emetophobia until today. One of my roomates has a boyfriend who is constantly over here. Today he was laying on the couch and kept saying he wasn't feeling well. Apparently he felt like he was going to v*. He didn't yet, thankfully, but I have a problem with the fact that she knows about my phobia and still allows him to be sick here. I know I will have to cope with it if any of my roomates ever get sick, but I don't feel that it is right for me to have to put up with him being sick when he doesn't even live here. Does anyone have any advice of what I should do?

Thanks!

Ooohhhh.... I can certainly imagine how you'd feel. To tell you the truth, I probably would get rather cranky about that, esp. if the roommate knew about your phobia. Aparently she's not thinking about you right now, and is thinking/concerned about her boyfriend. When someone in my house was sick when I was still living with my parents, (my parents are divorced, so I always had another house I could go to) I'd just say that I really couldn't afford to get sick, I was too busy, so I was going to leave and go to my Dad's. Now I'm thinking that the opposite would work for you... ask your roommate to go with her boyfriend over to his place so she can take care of him there. I'm sure he'd be way more comfy in his own bed instead of on a couch. How rude tho to go and pollute someone else's apartment with germs, but I guess non emets don't even think of stuff like that. Hope I've helped you some. Good luck with this.... it's one of the reasons I never lived on campus and only lived with my boyfriend in college.
    In memory of the sweetest german shepherd I ever had the pleasure of knowing. I love you, Duncan. 3/12/02 - 12/19/11