Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Worries about the Future...

Hey everyone,

So I'm kind of new here. This is my first time posting here, but I've been lurking for a little while just researching. I apologise in advance if I do or say anything wrong. I have a terrible habit of doing that.

Today, my boyfriend had an sv*, and he kept talking about it to me over MSN. Even though he's 50km away, it still made me ridiculously anxious. I had that tight feeling in my throat and I was shaking. It's never been that bad before. The other week, we were on the train and he said he wasn't feeling great and even that made me have to move away from him. I was curled into a ball in a corner seat with my fingers in my ears, shaking and hyperventilating.

I don't know if I'm even posting this in the right area, but it's the only place I can think of.

My emet seems to only extend to seeing someone v* or hearing it happen. When it happens to me, I'm able to accept it and not panic about it. Sure, I feel terrible afterwards, but I don't really feel panicky. It's only with other people. And I can look at pictures, watch videos and everything of people v*, but as soon as it's going to happen in front of me, I panic.

I keep thinking about my future with my boyfriend. I love him so much, and I have no doubt that I want to spend the rest of my life with him, but he gets s* A LOT. Everything seems to make him s*... things he eats, even just a glass of water, and he's very prone to sv*. I feel like I can't ever live with him because of the frequency that he v*.

Also, I'm afraid of having to deal with sick children. I just don't think I could be in the house with them when they're ill, which, knowing children, could be quite often.