Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default College and being an Emet.

I've had emet since I was a small girl. It's never gone away. It stinks. It's more about me being near v* or people who are getting sick. I freak out considerably when I v* and it takes me a while to recover, but I think it's more about other people v* with me.

I was wondering if anyone is a college student, like me. Because of my emet, I can't go to parties and such. I also rarely go out on the weekends because people get drunk and v* in public. I can't stand it!

You know what's funny? I'm a pre-med student. That's right, I'm studying to be a doctor. I've worked in clinical settings (for caring for the dining and the like) and have been around v* and helped clean it up...for some freaking reason, I can handle v* but ONLY in the confines of a clinical or hospital setting. Outside of that, I just FREAK OUT.

My being an emet causes me not to consume any alcohol but it stinks because I'm a sophomore and have no friends because I can't party. Sometimes I get lonely and stuff but then I think about going outside and I just can't do it. People v* anywhere here...you find it outside when the weekend is through! I can't deal with it. It sucks that now I have no friends just because I don't go out to parties.

Default Re: College and being an Emet.

I'm a college student as well, a senior, and though I've been an emet since I was young it didn't really start effecting my social life until this year after a very bad experience over the summer.

I go to school in a small town so basically the only thing people do on the weekends is go out to drink. I don't have a problem with drinking myself, I'm very very careful about how much I consume, but I find it very difficult to be around others who are drinking and I spend most nights out completely paranoid.