Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Flight Attendant

Hey guys. I recently graduated from college (Tourism & Travel) and I've always wanted to be a flight attendant. I have been applying to different airlines, but right now I'm on the edge, I really would love to do it, but then my fear of v* comes in. I'm scared of myself doing it and seeing other passengers do it. I myself have never had any problems flying (because I take Gravol everytime I have to fly), but if I fly for a living, I'm not going to be able to do that because of how tired it makes you, or the fact that I don't WANT to.

Any emets out there who fly without Gravol? Have you had any problems?

I also hear that people who are susceptible to motion sickness can get used to it if they are exposed to it for prolonged periods of time. Is this true?

Thanks for all your help

-Allison

Default Re: Flight Attendant

Hey there

I fly often and dont use any meds. I do just fine. But i dont fly over 3 hours and i am sure being a flight attendant u may have to fly longer than that so i am not sure how that will work. I'm sorry that i wasnt much help. Good Luck though..YOU CAN DO IT!!

Hi! I fly a lot too...long distances (5+ hrs). I get nauseas only due to nerves...my biggest fear is someone else getting airsick, and I'll be trapped. I've read horror stories about what flight attendants have to endure:
    http://www.aboutmyjob.com/2111/fligh...iesstewardess/
    If you google phares along the lines of "flight attendant, stories, horror, vomit" etc...you'll get some interesting results.
    Do you suffer from motion sickness? I think that of all the ways I travel, I suffer the least from air travel (for motion sickness). If you do, just take a low-drowsiness Dramamine or something, you should be fine.

Hello there!