Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Smile Something that helps me - Amethyst

Okay, so you guys might think this is kind of strange, but it might help a few people, because it helped me. Let me preface this real quick with a few things, firstly this is this account's first post, but I've been browsing these forums for a few years. And I had an account a while ago but I didn't realize I had let it expire. :P Next, I am 23, and female. Nice to re-meet you all. Heh. So now onto the relevant stuff.

Some time ago I went through a curious phase, and discovered the belief in the metaphysical properties of stones. I was into that a bit for a while, I was an emetophobe at the time, and I learned that amethyst is regarded as a stone with some interesting, supportive healing properties. I learned that, firstly, in mythology, it supposedly wards against intoxication from alcohol, and prevents hangovers. Along that vein, I learned that it has antitoxin properties, and is said to help ward the body against poisons, and help cleanse it of existing poisons. Also it is grounding, emotionally sedative, and helps ward against nausea. It is also said to aid in the recovery of phobias. I thought, man, this is cool, and perfect for my problem. I wasn't crazy into that belief or anything, but I started wearing a little bit of amethyst inside this locket of mine, and mind over matter took over. I've attributed much of my recovery process to this mind over matter and the little bit of subconcious hope and belief that I put in the stone. Every time I'm wearing it, the anxiety of tummy illness almost dissipates entirely. I don't like to think I'm dependent on it, but I don't like to go anywhere without it.