Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Does anyone else always have a plan?

Hi! I'm a high school student. A lot of the time throughout the day, I get spontaneously nauseous, and even if it's a little twinge, I'll multiply it like 10 times and freak myself out, worrying that I'm going to throw up in class. When I get the feeling, I stop paying attention to the actual class I'm in to look around for the nearest garbage can or anything in case I do have to v*, even though I never throw up (even though I could, I just hold it back). Again I also have to carry my anti-nausea medicine and a lot of the times I carry a plastic bag- especially when I travel.

And again at school, people are always saying "My stomach hurts" and it scares me. Every morning a girl in my bio class comes in and says she's nauseous and I just want to run out of the room, same with anyone else who might say it. And my friends say it all the time and I tell them to get away from me. Even my mom throws up a lot because she has a stomach problem (like me) which causes her to v* but I get really paranoid and ask her over and over again if it's just her normal stomach problem or if she's actually sick- then I'll go germ crazy trying to make sure I stay away. I hate it!

Default Re: Does anyone else always have a plan?

I'm a college student and I always have a plan too. I always sit closest to the door so I can run out if I or someone else gets sick. I ALWAYS have Dramamine or Pepto on me and when people around me look or say they feel sick, I won't even breath near them. I seriously will hold my breath when I walk past them. I think its normal for us to always have a plan... makes us feel like we have some control over the situation. I also believe that backup plans aren't terrible things. At least we have them and we aren't shutting ourselves in. Keep traveling and having fun