Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hi, everyone!

I have been browsing this site for a few weeks now and finally got up enough courage to join. I was truly shocked to discover how common this phobia is. I am 25 years old and have struggled with it for many years now. I didn't even realize that there was a name for it until I read in a magazine that it was one of the top 5 phobias that people experience. I was amazed to read all of the posts that reflect the way that I feel.

I guess something that is really ironic about me having this phobia, is that I am a registered nurse. I thought that becoming a nurse may help me to overcome my phobia but I believe that it has made it worse. I was able to make it through nursing school without dealing with *v* mainly because I had a friend who had an eye phobia. I would take care of the patients who had an eye phobia and she would take care of the *v* patients. Fortunately we both got jobs at the same doctor's office after nursing school and we continued with our trade off. Now I have a case management job at the local health department, so I don't have to deal with sick patients face-to-face.

This phobia makes me feel like a horrible nurse. I can withstand any other medical problem except *v*. I have been in the operating room and witnessed surgeries that didn't bother me. Nothing else gets to me except *v*. I enjoy caring for people only if they're not *v*. I have had people say to me "How can you be a good nurse if you can't take someone *v*?"