Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Question Paxil Withdrawals

Hi everyone,

I am on prescription medication Paxil (paroxetine) and am slowly weaning myself off of it. I have been using Paxil for anxiety for about 10 years now because of my emetophobia. Before the Paxil, I barely ate anything, wouldn't go to any restaurants, etc. I had all of the classic emet symptoms. With the Paxil, I am still anxious when I feel nauseous, but I don't feel nauseous nearly as often and it's not as bad as it used to be.

I want to get off the Paxil because I hope to have children one day (I'm getting married in May, but don't want children for a couple years) and Paxil is harmful to fetuses. The doctor says I probably don't need it anymore anyway, and anything I feel when I'm coming off of it is just withdrawal.

Last year, November 2009, my doctor and I lowered my dosage from 30mg to 20mg. I felt nothing for a month, and then everything hit me one day in December. My fiance and I were driving and he was talking about a "chicken roll" and how this one restaurant made it the best. I started thinking about it and felt n*. My legs started to shake, my head started spinning, and I opened the window even though it was freezing outside. I closed my eyes to keep from seeing the restaurants, but that also made me feel s*. We got to our destination and I was so worked up at that point that I didn't even want to go shopping as planned, I just wanted to go home. The whole ride home, I was so n*- I kept telling my fiance to talk to me, get my mind off it, but I was hunched in the seat, shaking like a leaf, praying to myself and trying hard not to think of food.

After this instance, for about 3 months more, I was n* all the time. I had to keep stepping outside at work, especially at lunchtime. Trying to compose myself was not easy.