Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Hi I'm new here and I'm so nervous :(

Hi my name is Stefanie.

I'm new to this forum and I've been browsing it and have found it so helpful. I suffer from a fear of v* and I have since I can remember. I have a feeling it first started because my mother hates v* and when we were kids and would get sick she would run out of the room and get my father. Also I used to get sick all the time as a child and have horrilbe memories of it.

I now am a 27 (on sunday ) year old and I HATE HATE HATE how this fear effects my life. I work in retail and of course I hate it! I love my actual job but I'm always using hand sanitizer because being winter (adn canada) I'm always worried about getting sick!!

I live with my partner who I have been with for 5 years now and he really doesn't know the half of it regarding my fear. Last year he came down with the Noro virus and although I freaked out! and after I made sure he was ok (2 days later) I left for 2 weeks to visit my family and to get away from the sickness. I ate practically nothing during the 2 days he was sick and I was NO help to him whatsoever! I hated myself for not being able to help him or care for him properly I just couldn't.

He really didn't clue in that I was afraid of v* he just thought that since I have lupus (chronic illness) i was worried about getting sick which would probably land me in the hospital. He has never put 2 adn 2 together as to why I can cuddle him and be with him when he has a cold but not a sv.

Now that we are living together he is seeing me have "panic attacks" at least a few times a week, he thinks it stress and tries to help me through it but he doesn't know it's a fear of v that is causing it. I'll eat somthing or feel a little funny in the tummy and it'll set off this huge panic attack and he just thinks its stress.