Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default New Member and My Fear

Hey everyone!

I'm a 23 year old girl living on the West Coast of Canada. This is my first time joining a support forum like this, because more and more I realize that this phobia is controlling my life, and I'm absolutely ready to start dealing with it.

My phobia started when I was seven. My grandma, who lived with my family since I was born and raised me, was diagnosed with cancer. I remember during her chemo therapy, I was walking through the park with her and my family, and she was sick into a plastic shopping bag that she'd brought. I sort of ignored it at the time, but I remember it vividly. She died very soon after, and instead of mourning, I suddenly became obsessed with sickness. I would ask my mom constantly if certain symptoms meant I was going throw up. I remember having an anxiety attack in grade four while I was working as a lunch monitor because the teacher asked one of the students if he was feeling okay.

I associated vomiting with death, and now it's just become worse and something I think about all of the time. I mean, I think about it more than anything else and constantly living my life around the fear. I'm terrified that strangers might get sick at anytime, and it keeps me from relaxing in any public situations. I'm an actor, and I find it hard to even go to plays in case one of the actors get sick. It's like torture. I barely ever drink and NEVER get drunk for the fear I'll be ill. The parties I have gone to have been short lived, and I can never stay at them because I know someone is going to get sick. I think about what everyone will do when it happens, what I'll do, will they notice me freaking out, will I be able to control myself...