Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Post How I got over my phobia...

For me, it took my husband and I planning on a second child that caused me to look into getting cognitive behavioral therapy for my phobia. I have GAD that I knew fed the phobia to begin with and even though I have my master's degree in clinical social work where we learn about this stuff in detail, I could not apply it to my life. I kept thinking my book-learning would do it but it didn't so I decided that a baby spitting up and throwing up would be a nightmare like it was with my first child and I didn't want to do that again or not give my future baby the attention she deserved because the phobia ruled my mind and all that I did.

So, I started the therapy...and she was good, very tough and made me do homework after each session. There was hypnotherapy involved, CD copies of one or two sessions provided to me so I could do the meditation at home, some journaling, and there was alot of detailed describing of my greatest fears. It was HARD WORK.

There were times when I would rebel, not do the homework, make some excuse like I didn't have time or not feeling good but she didn't let me slip and she persisted and held me accountable (if ur therapist does not do that, find one that will because we subconsiously will subtly fight the therapy as a natural defense mechanism). A barrier to my success would be discovered at these moments and then I'd move forward more once we got over the barrier. But we'd work through it and she did it in a calm, reassuring but stern manner and I allowed myself to trust her experience and knowledge in her field.

Good advice I can give is when you feel like quitting, that's when you're about to make a break through and if you keep moving forward you'll make it!!