Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hybrid View

Post Help! I've had emetophobia for almost 11 years!

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting here, and to be honest, the first time i'm sharing this experience because I've been hiding (or attempting to) the degree of severity of my panic attacks that I feel (sorry if this post is too long!). I've had emetophobia since I was 5 years old (I am currently 16). I have a really strong stomach, and somehow I haven't thrown up since I was 5 (that was after a severe operation I had to go through), an advantage I guess. It's often the act of throwing up, and the stuff that comes out that really gets to me. I can't stand it and it just makes me so scared, it's a feeling that's difficult to describe I guess.

Unfortunately, I have a younger brother who is prone to airsickness; he's had an extremely weak immune system ever since he was a baby. He's also prone to puking whenever he has asthma attacks. One year, we were visiting relatives in Shanghai, and the pollution was so bad that my brother started having a coughing fit in this restaurant, and then started puking all over the place. Now, whenever he coughs or curls his tongue up, I get this sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach and I start covering my ears. Airplane flights are the worst. My brother gets REALLY nauseous during air flight turbulences, and quite often, the worst happens. My panic attacks are so bad that I have to cover my ears, and sprint quickly to the bathroom. The strangest thing is, I never feel like throwing up myself (because I guess I can't?).