Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Finally I Know I'm Not Alone!

Hi everybody, I'm new on here.

I feel I have emetophobia and I think I had been battling it since I was under 5 years of age. I'll see what you guys think though. Ever since I can remember, I have had an extreme fear of someone throwing up or me throwing up. I remember just about every time I have witnessed someone getting sick and I remember it like it was yesterday. I remember being at daycare and one of the kids would get sick and I would be absolutely mortified all day long. I would run away and cry and get really scared. It would just ruin my whole day. And it has been that way for so long. I'm always thinking, "what if they get sick?" "where would I go?" "can I get away?". Its like for many many things. I hate to ride on school buses for the fear of someone getting sick. I get anxious in cars unless I'm driving. I don't air travel. I can't even watch my cats puke up hairballs! The sound of someone getting sick makes me cringe. I always have to get away. I feel trapped when someone gets sick around me like I cant get away fast enough. When I was a teenager, I would NOT eat in public for the fear of getting sick.

But like when I witness something like that, I become extremely anxious. I shake tremendously, become nauseous, my stomach tightens and I get dizzy and breath rapidly and my heart races. And I usually get emotional and start crying.