Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Vomit in Schools

So I just went for a meeting with the principal of a local school regarding my student teaching placement for my degree.

The first thing he says to me when he steps out of his office is "I will be right with you, Hayley. I just have to go clean up some vomit."

I thought *great*, only just set foot in the door and already I have to have an experience with vomit.

He stepped into a door right behind me which was the first aid room, and walks out with two buckets. Obviously full of sick. Nice. (Note sarcasm).

I then said to him "so does this happen a lot around here?" And he said that it happens fairly regularly both in the first aid room, and sometimes in the classroom.

Not looking forward to this part of my future job!

Default Re: Vomit in Schools

I was a social work intern in a school for a year. Didn't see v* once! I know kids v* cause the kids would tell me, but I never encountered it first hand. (Didn't catch any v* illnesses either -- just every head cold that went around)
    "I'm not supposed to be like this, but it's okay" -- The Wrong Child, R.E.M.

That's good! Well I am not worried about catching it. I never catch anything, and even if I do, I don't care. I just hate being around other people vomiting as I hate how it looks, sounds, and smells. So I am more concerned that a child will vomit in my classroom! I might make a classroom rule that says "If you feel like you want to vomit, go quickly to the first aid room straight away." LOL.

You could definitely do that. Just say that if someone feels ill to please tell you right away, and they will be sent to the nurse asap. And that you don't care if they interrupt your lesson.
    PM me for contact info such as skype, email, or facebook. Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by spilled_milk View Post