Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Question Things are somehow scarier at night...

I'm one of the few who actually fears OTHER people vomiting only.

I'm a resident advisor in my one of the residence halls on my college campus. I love my job - The programming, meeting new people, getting to be creative... The only thing I get super nervous about is Wednesdays. Wednesdays are "duty" nights for me. Residents have a phone number they can call when they're in the building and I answer it if things go wrong (locked out, a no hot water in showers, etc.) but sometimes I have had calls about there being say, vomit on the elevator or someone "throwing up all over the 6th floor bathroom" - These were not good experiences. They've happened - In fact, they were so terrifying that I couldn't handle them. I literally RAN from the situation.

It's still the beginning of the school year (SORT of) and nothing like this has happened yet but I cannot sleep on duty because I know there's a possibility of this kind of thing happening. The phone is on from 7pm-7am. ANYONE could throw up during that time and me have to know about it to call emergency housekeeping to get it cleaned. There are 403 residents in my building. This is unsettling - Especially at night. Anyone else feel particularly nervous about their fear/anxiety regarding vomit at night? Why is that? Where does that come from?

Hmmm.

Default Re: Things are somehow scarier at night...

It's bc we aren't busy any more. All day we are occupied with things, then at night during relaxation time, those scary thoughts and fears sneak in. Good luck

I'm the complete opposit! I'm not a morng person and I have anxiety the mrng:/ at night I'm usually ok and feel to go out! Nws gd luck with everything!

I seem to get more anxious in the morning and night but less in the middle of the day. Sadly, I do not know why.