Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default How do you get people to understand?

It's just a question that's on my mind.
    I have teachers who I can talk to about my anxiety, but they obviously have no clue just how scared I am of being sick. I wish I had somebody to talk to other than my Mum who absolutely understood me?
    How do you guys (if you do) explain your fear to other people? Do you have anyone you can talk to?

Claire x

Default Re: How do you get people to understand?

I'm a teacher and I would like to think that we would all try to understand you, but that might not be the case. If you want them to know about it print off information, the faq section on this website is great, they might, having read it, read more into it and understand a little better. I recently told my other half, although I couldn't bring myself to say the words, I just said I think I know whats wrong and showed him the website.

Thanks Heather, that's great advice, I'll probably do that.
    I know that the teachers understand me in a way - I run out of quite a few lessons and they know why. But.. Ah it's hard to explain. I wish they knew how terrified I was. Only other emets truly understand! Why aren't you my teacher? ^_^