Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Post Are you afraid to drink/be around people who are drinking?

I've had emetophobia since I was about 8 years old and have never really looked for online support until today... so it's really awesome to see that I am not alone.

I'm in my last year of high school and of course everyone drinks and parties and I am just too afraid to be near them or to drink myself. Not that it's bad that I don't drink but I'm usually pent up in my room while all of the others my age go out with friends. Does anyone else feel this way too?

Default Re: Are you afraid to drink/be around people who are drinking?

I'm not afraid of being around people who are drinking. I've held friends hair back while they v* after drinking too much! And no I'm not afraid of drinking. But I am cautious. I don't want to be out of control, not remember anything and feel sick the next day. What fun is that?!
    ☮ ♥ emma

i've never drank either because of emet.....which isort of view as a good thing. for a long time i didn't like being around people who were too drunk in fear of v........but now i can handle it. as long as i know a persons v isn't contagious i can kind of shrug it off........dont get me wrong.....i will go to another room or something........but i don't get the anxiety with it like i used to.

lots of emets do drink with no problem........i'm just not one of them
    how i feel about emet
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I'm not really afraid to drink, I've been tipsy before...however like someone else said, I am cautious. Usually my body sends me signals when I've had more than enough to drink and I stop before I get drunk. So far, I've behaved myself