Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Angry hand washing myths... wtf is going on.

this girl at my work
    who thinks she knows everything (shes very book smart but no common sense)

well today my emet came up in conversation (my hand sanitizer etc) and everyone was being VERY supportive of me... than she chimes in...............

she goes, you know you may not get sick now but you WILLl fall ill with a super bug... your body has no defense against anything. YOU WASH YOUR HANDS TOO MUCH. (i wash them when i get home, when i go to the restroom, when i eat, and when they are dirty)
    I work in a bank so i touch money so i do sanitize my hands after each customer to avoid the spread of bacteria. she says that im hurting my body bad and i will end up being violently ill....

ugh i could freak out.

as my previous post from last night said.... i have been feeling yucky since last night and was afraid i was s*...i never got ill and ate this morning and afternoon (light stuff, toast and cereal bar) so now im totally on edge... and feel like im doomed and am deff. going to get ill because i wash my hands.......

Default Re: hand washing myths... wtf is going on.

Truth is, we emets probably do wash our hands way too much. BUT, that doesn't mean that washing your hands is bad for you! It's just excessive.
    PM me for contact info such as skype, email, or facebook. Thanks!

If you're using hand sanitizer after each customer, it stops working after a few coats.

What a bitch...lol (sorry for the blatent profanity) but gee, she obviously doesn't understand how you feel...

Don't keep her in your head...think you are a fighter and keep doing what you are doing...truth is, maybe we do wash are hands too much (more so now cause of the season) but if it helps you feel better in your mind, then you do what makes you comfortable...don't listen to her...people like that really irk me!!