Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Smokers

Default Smokers

Hi everyone! I'm Mina I'm new to this fourm not to the phobia but I wanted to see if who ever smokes cigarettes feels the same as me! I started smoking when I was 15 I'm now 24 and I feel like it really helps when I'm n* or having a panic attack... Does smoking making your n* worse or better? I really want to quit I hate the smell of smoke (crazy I know) and I want live a long happy healthy life with my husband. But smoking is seriously the only thing that makes me feel better. I don't want to take anti depressants or anxiety pills because my family has a HUGE history of addiction I'd rather be addicted to cigarettes than pills.

Default Re: Smokers

Quote Originally Posted by mina16 View Post
    Hi everyone! I'm Mina I'm new to this fourm not to the phobia but I wanted to see if who ever smokes cigarettes feels the same as me! I started smoking when I was 15 I'm now 24 and I feel like it really helps when I'm n* or having a panic attack... Does smoking making your n* worse or better? I really want to quit I hate the smell of smoke (crazy I know) and I want live a long happy healthy life with my husband. But smoking is seriously the only thing that makes me feel better. I don't want to take anti depressants or anxiety pills because my family has a HUGE history of addiction I'd rather be addicted to cigarettes than pills.
    I'm an ex-smoker. I am so very sorry you feel that you'd rather be addicted to cigarettes than to pills. My dad is suffering with lung cancer right now from those stupid cigarettes, and I can tell you, he wishes he never, ever picked them up.
    I, too, used to feel better when I smoked, but I think it was because it calmed me down (crazy, because nicotine is a stimulant.)