Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Unhappy I just want relief

I feel like I am never going to get rid of this emetophobia. And I so BADLY want to be a nurse! I want relief from it. It's miserable I just want help

Default Re: I just want relief

i know there are some emet members here that are nurses or work in the medical field. sorry i don't remember any of their names, but hopefully atleast one of them will respond and help you with this
    how i feel about emet
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If you don't mind my asking, how old are you? Have you ever volunteered in a healthcare setting? That might be something to look into as a sort of safe testing ground, since as a volunteer you are never absolutely obligated to do anything you do not wish to.

I have some personal experience that might be encouraging to you. My parents are both doctors and my dad in particular (who is a GI) had told me for years I'd never be a doctor if I couldn't deal with vomit. Last summer I volunteered in a local ER, and to my great surprise, I didn't freak out about vomit (just the usual "gross" response, but no heart racing, no urge to flee, no more aversion than watching someone poop or something.) I can't deal with vomit in a non-clinical setting, but for some reason I'm very level-headed in a clinical setting. I have since realized I actually want to be a veterinarian but that has nothing to do with my phobia and everything to do with my own personal goals and feelings.

i want to be a nurse, so i became a dental nurse. and i can handle everything except whe people gag. its the worste. im starting treatment soon though. there are many thinsg i want to do but cant.
    No passion so effectively robs the mind of all its powers of acting and reasoning as fear.