Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Thread: Emet teachers?

Default Emet teachers?

I'm in my second year of uni atm so really need to start considering what I want to do with my life and I've always thought about being a primary school teacher. I've done work exp in a primary school, volunteered at a summer camp for autistic kids, worked as a maths and english tutor and have just applied for a job over the summer at a kids camp, so it's deffo something i'm interested in.

And so far i've been fine as far as emet is concerned...Most of those things have been in the summer months so it's been on my mind less but i'm worried being a primary school teacher in the winter is gonna freak me out cause i was always terrified being a student at school during winter and i'd take days off when it went round my school. But you can't really do that as a teacher! And especially with little kids things go round a lot quicker and they might not make it to the bathroom and just vomit on the floor and I don't know what i'd do (this happened once when I was working at the tutor centre and it was terrifying).

It's been on my mind a lot recently because I went to my interview for the summer camp last weekend and the interviewer was talking about sick days and said they won't let you time off for colds and silly things like that but if you've got a sick bug or something more serious then the procedure is to ring up beforehand bla bla bla and then she said '...and unfortunately this can be quite common working with children'

So I was just wondering if anyone has this job how have they coped?

Default Re: Emet teachers?

I've been an elementary teacher for 10 years now. I teach 12-13 year olds, but there are just as many germs around. I have never caught a sv* from my students, only other yucky things - strep throat, bronchitis, influenza, colds - nasty! I only have caught sv* from my son!