Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Thread: im new here..

hey, this is my first time on this site, and im so happy/shocked that i discovered this resource...

ive been an emetophobe for all my life, and hadnt puked in like 13 years..until last february, i got a stomache bug or something and puked ALOT. it traumatized the hell out of me...anyway

since then, every slight twinge of pain in my stomache makes me think im gonna puke, which then makes me really anxious, which then makes my stomache hurt....its a vicious cycle. so for the past year, pretty much i have felt like crap (stomache-wise) about 75-80% of the time...its definitely started affecting my life and happiness... throwing up and how my stomach feels is ALWAYS on my mind...ironically though, despite all these ridiculous stomach issues, i have not once thrown up. weird.

if anyone has any words of wisdom, knows what im going through, or any encouragement i will bow down and kiss your feet....seeing as all my friends, parents and even my therapist seem to be getting frustrated with me...THANK YOU

Hey welcome! This site rocks by the way, you'll get loads of support here. I think the paranoia about stomach twinges and stuff is just our basic emet stuff. Theres a whole lot ofcrap that happens when you have this phobia. You just have to try telling yourself, hey I didn't v* last time that happened. Or the last. Or the last. And hopefully it will help.

Yeah I'm new here too. I have the same problem. I always think that once my stomach is hurting then it's all over and I'm going to V*. But I just have to calm myself down and keep telling myself that things are going to be okay.

~Monica