Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Thread: Very distressed

Default Very distressed

Hello, I am new to this forum so hello everyone I'm a 21-year-old student in London. Have had emetophobia for as long as I can remember, had therapy in my teens as the phobia caused me not to eat properly. From about 18 I began to eat normally again and when I was 19 v* for the first time since I was 9 which actually really helped me begin to overcome my fear. Since then I have been much better with it.

Now about a month ago I had some pain in my sides and nausea, was taken to hospital where I did suffer from v* but felt I coped with it very well, as I felt safe in a hospital environment. Turned out I had a kidney infection which was a result of cystitis which has spread. I always feel more in control when I know what is causing any nausea or v*, and find it much better to cope with if it is not a stomach-related problems (food poisoining, tummy bug etc) - so knowing it was a kidney infection made the symptoms much easier to deal with, and I was given great anti-sickness meds when I was discharged. Also I was given a two week course of antibiotics which I came off just under two weeks ago.