Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Introducing myself

Hi, I'm Kate.

I'm new to this, so I thought I'd share a bit about myself. I am married with two children, aged 7 and 4. I have never liked or been okay with v*, but I got through it and fortunately, haven't had to do it very often. It's been over 20 years since the last time, and that was a hangover!
    I didn't really think about it too much unless I was n*. I took medication through both pregnancies, but at the time I shrugged it off as "I really don't like to be sick."
    Then my son became ill and v* when he was about 2. I did what I had to for him, and then went away, hid, and had a panic attack. Parents will know, it's often a hot topic of discussion at pre-school, what's going around, who's got it, etc.
    When my son was 4 and my daughter was 1, we were visiting my in-laws when he got sick again. I remember panicking and feeling trapped; I was sharing a room with my daughter. My son had drank from my cup earlier in the day. I got so anxious, I went to the local hospital and got Ativan.
    My phobia has grown into a daily obsession. Will today be the day? Will he/she/they get sick? Then I'll likely catch it and that would be disaster! I watch my children like a hawk. What are they eating? Did they eat enough? Too many sweets? Are they acting normally? Why is he/she so pale? When I think they may become ill ( all the time) I want to run away and hide, but I worry about them when I'm away too. It's to the point that I don't feel comfortable at home; I feel like a failure as a parent. The last time my daughter v*, I called my husband at work and cried until he said he'd come home. Of course, she was fine after that. I slept in our travel trailer in the driveway so I wouldn't be in the house.