Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Thread: College

Default College

So today me and my family decided it would propbably be best for me to take some time off college, as i'm just not coping and the fear of catching something is a nightmare! I was just wondering if emet has effected anyone else's education?
    "Life isn't about waiting for the storm to end, it's about learning to dance in the rain"

Default Re: College

It did mine when I was a sophomore in high school (10th grade). I never felt well enough to stay in school, and if I did, I would leave class in the middle of class having panic attacks. I am now a senior in college. (final year of college) It definitely could effect my education, but I refuse to let it, I run me, emet does not own or run me!!

All that said, if you are really having a very difficult time, maybe you should take some time off, maybe a semester, but don't let this fear own you. I realized that it is not even that difficult to live with the fear, just as soon as you make the decision that it doesn't control you.

Yeah i'm just thinking about taking a week or two off to get myself back on track, obviously i'll try and stay ontop of work! It's impossible for me to deal with at the moment :/
    "Life isn't about waiting for the storm to end, it's about learning to dance in the rain"

Maybe. Try only one week, are there any holidays coming in UK?
    Tick tock, time is passing and so is your life. Enjoy it while you can.
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Since i posted this i spoke to my college and they told me i could take as much time as i need, my teachers will work with me to keep up to date with the work! It gives me a chance to start my therapy properly aswell