Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Thread: dry hands?

Question dry hands?

Does anyone else have really dry hands because of all the hand washing and sanitiser they use?
    I have naturally dry skin anyway and as my emet is getting worse and I'm washing my hands more my skin is also getting drier. I can't complain though because I'd rather have dry hands than dirty ones!

Default Re: dry hands?

If you can get a hold of Gold Bond Hand Sanitizer it is the best thing for two reasons. One, it has the "good stuff" in it to help ward off tummy troubles and two, it has great long lasting cream to help with cracks! I was BAAADDD to the point of bleeding, but now I use this and I don't crack!

Oh yes, I deal with that... And I get eczema on my hands too so they're usually cracked and bleeding by the middle of November. Sometimes even in summer (back when I worked in a lab, washed my hands countless times per day). I usually buy Aveeno baby care for eczema, it helps with cracked skin without burning a lot and it's not greasy at all. It's not sanitizing like the other suggestion you were given, but it does a good job.

Hi there

I have EXACTLY this problem. My habds are so sore sometimes, I could honestly cry. I was using Palmer's cocoa butter formula, the concentrated stuff for hands, elbows and knees. It's real lush stuff but by God does it sting when you apply it.

So I went to a shop today and bought this new stuff that has just come on the market,got it half price presumably so people will try it out. It's called Jergens. There are two typed but I got the Ultra Healing habd cream. Just applied it and so far, so good. It's quite oily which is a but of a pain, but I'm not having the usual stinging that I hsve when I apply other cream. It seems to have subsided the dry feeling too and have only had it on for a minute or two. Quite a nice floraly smell too