Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default when is it really necessary to v?

Iv`e read on this site & others that sometimes it`s absolutely necessary to v, & I`m wondering which occasions would these be? I`m sure that I could get by perfectly well without vting for the rest of my life without vting, besides, there`s always the southern route if a person eats something that`s disagreed with them, so if we couldn`t v, would that be such a bad thing?

Default Re: when is it really necessary to v?

Well, for one, if you were to ingest something that was truly dangerous to your health. That's the reason that ipecac exists. Do you "need" to v when you have a sv or fp? Probably not, but I'm not a doctor, so don't quote me. My impression is that in those cases, when you v, it's because of organisms or viruses multiplying and excreting chemicals that irritate your intestine or activate certain receptors in your brain that makes you n.

From a practical point of view, though, it's not really a question of "do I need to v or I will die," because in all likelihood it is not possible to change your body to only feel n or v when you have ingested something horrid/poisonous. As a thought experiment, however, I guess it makes sense...

Yes, it would be necessary in case you ingested a poison or something that would pose a physical risk (blocking your oesophagus or irritating your stomach). Rats don't vomit, for example, and they survive that way but if they ingest a poison, they die, they can't v* it out. So having the ability to do so is actually quite useful if rarely used nowadays for that purpose. It is also good in case of illness to remove the virus or bacteria that cause irritation. Sadly, a lot of sv* are actually caused by irritation of the small intestine so by the time you v* there is no use anymore as the pathogen has moved out of the stomach already.