Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hello, my name is Steve and I’m new to this group. I’m glad I found this group and I’m glad I’ve found others with this disorder. Not so glad this problem exists though. So this is where I’m supposed to tell you my story.

I’ve been battling my fear of V for 10 years now. It’s probably longer but it really got bad 10 years ago. I was 18 at the time. Fast forward 10 years and I’m 28. So my fear is actually the act of V-ing. I just can’t do it. I’ll pace around and do anything within my power to avoid doing it. It’s horrible. I splash water on my face, keep a cool rag handy, shower if necessary and ice packs to avoid the hot flashes.

10 years ago I was on a boat in the middle of a lake when I started to feel nauseous. There wasn’t an escape. So I went from nauseous to SUPER nauseous in 5 seconds. I had my first full on panic attack at that time as well. I was taken to the ranger station at the lake and the paramedics were called out. I was diagnosed with “heat exhaustion.” I was told to drink adequate liquids as to avoid future incidences. Well, days went by, then weeks, eventually a couple months went by before I was officially diagnosed with panic disorder. Somewhere in the middle I had several more episodes of “heat exhaustion.”

I started to avoid eating certain foods. I wouldn’t eat for at least 4 hours prior to having to go someplace. I would also not leave the house without water and/or ice packs. I live in <st1lace><st1:City>Phoenix</st1:City>, <st1:State>Arizona</st1:State></st1lace> and it gets a little hot here. So not only do I have this lovely fear of V, but I also have a fear of the heat. I eventually became a hermit. I’d only come out at night. I’d have a hard time in stores, etc.