Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hi guys,

I'm Meg, and I'm brand new to this marvellous site. I'm Australian, 22, married, and have been ridiculously afraid of v* (i love how we can censor that word here!) since i can remember (sadly, it is one of my earliest memories :O) ain't that dumb?).

Anyhoo, I thought after reading your posts, that I would like to write in for a few reasons: first to say that, like you all, I almost died of releif to discover that you are all out there, with this very real condition, and am not a freak! even though sometimes I feel like one. Also, I think its important to fight this thing not give into it and the best way to do that is to be able to share experiences, and perhaps humour. And also - I know you'll love this - to say that there is hope! because I am committed to recovering from this thing that has been defining my life up until now. So I thought I would list some of my experiences (things I will never tell most people who just wouldnt get it!) and see if anyone out there goes "I SOOOO know what you mean!". So here goes: My life as an emet, in dot points. Here's hoping you can relate, and maybe we can laugh at this stuff together :O)

* When I was little, I couldn't bring myself to say or hear any word that meant sick, because I beleived that it would have to 'come true' and would make me sick.

* Refused to use the toilet at school, because there was only one cubicle, so if someone came in sick... well...

* My younger sister was one of the few people who actually cottoned on to my phobia for what it was, and so when she wanted to blackmail me, she did so by threatening to pour Ipecac syrup in my drink when I wasn't watching!!! the little witch! It worked every time!

* Long car trip = painful death