Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Thread: Just curious

Hybrid View

Question Just curious

Hello!
    My name is Kelly and I'm a sophomore in college studying Psychology. I know someone who is emetophobic and I've heard about the amount of anxiety she endures while leaving her house. Though I am not emetophobic I found this site and I'm really curious about this phobia. It seems as though it destroys her life and she can barely do anything. Do any of you get anxiety while leaving the house and do you have a specific event or feeling that triggered this phobia? I'm really curious about phobias so my intention is not to offend anyone. If you would love to tell me about your phobia I would be more than happy to try and understand! Thank you so much and I hope you have a great day!

Default Re: Just curious

Hello Kelly! That's very nice of you! I'm a little different from most emetophobics but here's what I can tell you. First, I apologize if what I'm saying isn't true for some of us:

We have problems leaving our houses because when we are out, we are exposed to many kinds of virus that may lead us to vomit. That make us wash our hands nonstop to the point where some of us bleed. When someone is sick, we freak out. We bleach everything and, when we can, we avoid the sick person. Some women here fear having children because of morning sickness that comes with pregnancy, even when most of us don't vomit from it.

The bad thing about fearing vomit is that it's not something we can avoid, like spiders; if you fear spiders, you don't go where there's spiders. That doesn't happen with vomit. Vomit may be everywhere, and we cannot control it. If you fear spiders and see one, you turn your back and run. If you are going to vomit, you swallow a thousand anti emetics and pray, because there's nothing else you can do. If you have to vomit, you will vomit.