Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Dad just got sick, nervous

This is my first time posting. Like everyone here, I am petrified of throwing up. My dad just threw up downstairs. I'm upstairs right now, and washed my hands right away.

He had a cold a few days ago, and now I have he cold. Is that easier to catch than the stomach virus?

Should I be okay as long as I stay up in my room, keep washing my hands, and don't come in contact with him or anyone that was by him?

Default Re: Dad just got sick, nervous

Kenny, does he have diarrhoea/stomach cramps/fever? if he just vomited if could be due to the cold.

Not sure about the those symptoms. He's never vomited from a cold before. Right now I might have a small one (had it for about a day or so, he just got over it a few days ago)

Okay, he said that he had stomach cramps and diarrhoea before he threw up.

I wasn't near where he was sick, so would that reduce my chances a good amount?

You can only get noro from actual v or d. Give him some space and stay out of the areas he was sick until he is better. Continue with good hand washing/hygiene practices. When he is feeling better, he or you will need to clean with bleach which kills noro. He should be feeling a lot better in a few hours. You're doing fine. You can do this. I hope your Dad feels better soon.

Quote Originally Posted by Grace47 View Post
    You can only get noro from actual v or d. Give him some space and stay out of the areas he was sick until he is better. Continue with good hand washing/hygiene practices. When he is feeling better, he or you will need to clean with bleach which kills noro. He should be feeling a lot better in a few hours. You're doing fine. You can do this. I hope your Dad feels better soon.
    Thanks. I was trying to confirm that. I'm sure him or my mom will clean.