Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default anxiety/emetophobia

Hi everyone

I'm currently a Freshman at a school on the East Coast, originally from the Midwest Chicagoland area. I had struggled with slight emetophobia throughout high school, and have officially been diagnosed with IBS and severe anxiety. I've lost 20 pounds since coming to school, simply because I'm too afraid that if I go into the dining hall to eat I will undoubtedly eat something that I believe is contaminated with noro and end up sick.

I have washed and sanitized my hands to a point of needing aquaphor with cotton gloves every night, and I constantly feel pain in my abdomen and obsessively worry about catching noro and having to v*. It has gotten so bad the past few days, since yesterday I had a bad bout of d* (only once though which seemed strange) and have been too petrified to eat anything since. I've seen the clinic at my school and they've reassured me that i'm ok, yet I can never get past my constant worry that I will catch noro and v*

If anyone has any advice that could help I would love to hear it from another person who suffers from the same phobia! My doctors are now at a point where they want me to take a medical leave due to how sick I have been recently, but I would like to find a way to make it through the rest of the semester

Thanks in advance!

Default Re: anxiety/emetophobia

Oh Mary....I could almost have written your post....I was almost exactly where you are about 17 years ago, except I was at school in the South.