Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Will this ever end?

Okay so you may recognise me, i always disappear for months then suddenly come back to the site and post loads.

I don't know how much longer i can deal with this, whenever i think i'm getting better something happens (Like tonight) and i am RIGHT back to where i started and have to start all over again. It's exhausting, i'm missing so much college so i'll probably fail my exams and not get in to university this year. It's my 18th birthday tomorrow and i'm going to be spending it terrified and uncomfortable in bed. I'm ripping my family apart too, my parents always argue about me and my mum can't deal with me anymore and we are constantly screaming at each other.

I've been doing CBT for 6 months and i've tried hypnotherapy. Nothing is helping me and i'm just about ready to give up!

I'm sorry for posting i just really need to talk to people who understand
    "Life isn't about waiting for the storm to end, it's about learning to dance in the rain"

Default Re: Will this ever end?

As far as how your social life has been going, I can completely understand! As a 19 year old college freshman, it's been incredibly difficult for to live a normal college student life because of my emet. I can't go into the dining hall anymore, I don't use the gym, but oddly enough I am excelling with classes (probably because when I'm not in class, I'm working on something for school!). My parents are also a bit like yours-they're usually arguing over how to handle the situation I'm in/what they can do to make me feel better-I just think it would be hard for any parent to watch their child suffer and know that they can't do anything to help-both my parents are where your Mom is with you as well, they just don't even know how to handle me and this phobia.