Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Newbie mourning a missed opportunity (long-ish)

Hi, all. I've fought emetophobia for about 30 years (since I was about 8 or 9) and it's caused various degrees of distress. It's ebbed and flowed as I've gotten older; it pretty much ruined my fourth and fifth-grade years, but since then it's been more episodic than chronic. I've actually had good luck with avoiding illness; on average I've come down with digestive ailments about once every nine years. I take a lot of precautions, some of them seemingly ridiculous, but they have worked. By trade I'm a college teacher, and between dormitory living (with a lot of communal toilet spaces) and the usual casualness in hygiene habits, there's a lot of illness that goes around; most of the time I'm able to avoid it. I've also been able to avoid one or two instances when my husband came down with it (including once when we lived in a house with a single bathroom). I don't know if it's good hygiene or good luck or both.

Anyway, what's driven me here to finally talk about it began at the end of March. One Saturday morning my husband started showing the symptoms of whatever's been making the rounds, stayed in bed a long time that morning, felt like crap all day, made the mad dash to the toilet that afternoon where he v* once; he seemed to feel better, but slept the rest of the day. By midday Sunday he was up and around; he nibbled on something that afternoon and got better from there. I got nervous, of course, but managed to be matter-of-fact about it. I don't think I took as many precautions as I could have, and that led to what happened next day - chances are I caught it during that immediate period after.