Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Mint Zantac causing me to panic! Future advice?

I took a Zantac 150mg like I always do, but this one wa sblue and mint flavored. I don't know why anybody would want a mint flavored pill.

I took the pill and now there is a scary cold feeling in the back of my throat. The feeling is similar to what it felt like when I vomited a few weeks ago so I'm pretty scared. The coldness slowed down, but the cooling feeling is in the pit of my throat...

It REALLY confused my brain! I got very nauseated and panicky instantly! I'm shivering slightly.

I've taken the same pill yesterday, but I swallowed it fast enough for the feeling to leave. This time, it would figure that I didn't swallow it successfully and needed to swallow twice for it to fall. THe minty feeling is leaving, and with it my panic, but I want to know how to prevent this in the future? I'm not good at swallowing and the prescribed Ranitidine is HUGE! Like, a whole inch long. I can't swallow that!

I tried to chew a few potato crisps after to cause the feeling to leave but I don't believe I tried enough due to my anxiety nausea. I was gonna drink, but I was afraid.

I need to find a way to prevent this.

Default Re: Mint Zantac causing me to panic! Future advice?

I have taken those "cooling sensation" pills before too. Like you, I initially panicked because it felt strange and I didn't want it to make me gag or something... I don't know of a way to avoid it... Maybe eat a slice of bread as you swallow it? The good news is that the cool sensation does go away, and it WILL NOT make you vomit. I hope this helps to put your mind at ease.

I actually like the mint flavoured pills! The good thing is that that sensation goes away fairly quickly, so hopefully it isn't bothering you anymore. Just buy the non-mint ones next time!

That's a mistake I won't do again! hahaha