Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Iv been like this for days now and its not getting any better Im getting very scared over it. My phobia tightens up my throat and I always feel on the verge of retching, Its mortifyig me, I wake up at about 5am in panic and then I hate the idea of it carrying on all day, Iv been to the doctors and I wont take any tablets for it cos iv had the phobia 26yrs and always coped up til now. I feel there is no doorway or solution and im just existing on terror. I love going asleep but I wake up choking so I cant even relax. I cry lots when my kids arnt about. I pinch myself to take my mind off my throat and stomach, Im bruised because of it. Im so upset that its got this bad, I had it bad about 5 yr ago, got better and lead an almost normal life. I feel so insecure and I think thats why I feel the way I do. when I was an assistant manager I felt I was doing a good job and I knew I could run the place with my eyes shut,and I was also married at the time, it lasted a few months, he tret me bad, not beating me up but always going awol and switching his phone off so I couldnt get through to him, I did love him at the time but I cant stand the thought of me and him anymore, I feel ashamed every time I think of him and why I married him I will never know! In other words Im glad I have got rid of him so I cant understand why my phobia is so powerful at the mo, 24 hours a day Im on guard over it, has anyone else felt like this or am I going mad? I wont take tablets but I am trying hypnotherapy. Edited by: suzy.o