Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

i suffer terribly from emetophobia and ive seen the doctor and he was going to refer me but he doesnt want me to see any 'thearapists'.

im 17 and i cant face work, ive now lost my job, i cant face school, i cant face people. i live in my room and just tell people im studying hard, everything i touch, everything i see makes me think im going to be ill. i cry at night, and im male! its totally embarrassing. my whole life seems to be about nothing but the fear of v*. im at the end of my teather, i honestly cannot cope with whatever it is that is causing me to feel this way. what can i do as a last resort, its hopeless!!

hiya,

i've been goin thru some pretty dark times lately too so i can totally sympathise..... everything i do revolves around v*, like u say, everything i do/touch makes me think i'm going to be ill.... sometimes i convince myself i'm some sort of phsychic and i'm definitely goin to be sick sometime this year (mad huh?!!) i never used to be like this and the only thing i can suggest to u is perhaps you're depressed/anxious about something else in your life but it comes out in your emet..... earlier this year i broke up with my boyf, got really bad flu, was really stressed at work and i just went completely downhill... i have only just returned to work after having 4 months off trying to deal with depression/anxiety/emet......

things will get better though i'm sure. they slowly are for me although i do have some really bad days.... but then some really good days considering! you just need to focus on getting better and not letting this evil emet beat u.... i'm sure you'll get the help you need from your doc......... stay strong!!!!!!!!

twells,