Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Former Severe Emetophobe - Now Psychologist - Happy to Chat and help however I can

Hey folks,

I wish that when I was suffering deeply from emetophobia so many years ago that I had found this forum.

I was diagnosed with panic disorder at age 10, and suffered from my phobia severely until age 15..had a resurgence at age 24 or so for a couple of years during the stress of my undergrad education, and have since been much better. I'm 32 now.

It was a long, hard process for me to find my recovery, but I have used my own suffering as a motivation to help others. I am now a registered psychologist, specializing in counseling psychology... I have a full-time practice, but would love to offer my support to others on these message boards whenever I'm able to. I remember the desperation I felt at times, not being understood, people thinking 'how can you be SO afraid of THAT?!' Like I said, I might not always be able to check in on these boards daily, but I will try to do so as often as I can for the next while and would be happy to support those of you who are currently struggling with this phobia!!

Take care out there!

Default Re: Former Severe Emetophobe - Now Psychologist - Happy to Chat and help however I ca

Quote Originally Posted by psychologist/i hear you View Post
    Hey folks,

I wish that when I was suffering deeply from emetophobia so many years ago that I had found this forum.

I was diagnosed with panic disorder at age 10, and suffered from my phobia severely until age 15..had a resurgence at age 24 or so for a couple of years during the stress of my undergrad education, and have since been much better. I'm 32 now.