Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default I'm kind of fine...until Facebook

So a little about me to start off with:
    I've battled emetophobia for almost 20 years now. I have OCD, anxiety issues, IBS, and it's all related to emetophobia in some way. Fun. Honestly, I've grown to a place where I've managed to be some semblance of normal. I work as a pediatric ICU nurse in a hospital (hey! germy hospitals + children...I'm pretty proud of myself for handling that on a daily basis! And I don't even mind being labeled as the "germophobe" at work, haha), and have been able to manage a lot of my anxiety and OCD symptoms. Don't get me wrong, I am by no means cured, and my poor husband has to put up with a lot of my crazy fears on a daily basis, BUT I've made a lot of progress...

EXCEPT for what I call flare-ups - those times when I am extra worried and my OCD compulsions are more frequent - which always happens in the winter when it's noro season.

I. HATE. NORO.
    I hate it so much. I hate worrying about it, I hate that it exists, I hate living in fear of it.

I can ignore it all pretty well (i.e. rationalize it away) so that I'm at a functional level, but the worst part is the posts on Facebook this time of year. You all probably know what I'm talking about:

"I've never been so sick before in my life."
    "Oh great. [Child's name] just v*d all over."
    "Looks like everyone in our house is sick!"

I had one friend who posted that she had a sick child who was v*ing one morning, and then she took the kid to the movies that night! I was livid. The kid was clearly contagious, and she was so selfish as to bring her sick child to the movies just because she felt guilty that the kid was "bored at home"?!